Ford To Become Ontario’s 26th Premier

Parm Gill, and Doug Ford pose with supporters at Troy's Diner before Thursday's election

By: Laura Steiner

The Progressive Conservatives (PC’s) will form Ontario’s next provincial government.  The party won 76 seats in the June 7 vote following a month-long campaign.

The following day the Lieutenant Governor met with PC Leader Doug Ford to invite him to form a government.  “I will be working with my team to fulfill my campaign commitments and deliver change for the people,”  Ford said. .  He has been meeting with his transition team since Sunday.  Ford has pledged to support Justin Trudeau in his fight against American steel and Aluminum tariffs. The NDP and Andrea Horwath will be the official opposition with 40 seats

Former Premier Kathleen Wynne held onto her seat in Don Valley-West.  She announced her resignation as Premier the Saturday before Election day in the hopes of saving some Liberal seats.  Election night she announced she would quit as party leader as well.  The Liberals were cut down to seven seats; one less than is required for official party status.  The Green Party elected their first ever MPP with leader Mike Schreiner.  He has signalled his willingness to work with the Liberals.  “Cooperation does not equal ‘joining forces’ or discussing party status,” he tweeted Sunday.  He said he will be reaching out to all three parties this week to ‘talk about the GPO’s priorities.’

Parm Gill Wins Milton Riding

Milton PC candidate Parm Gill will be taking his seat after winning with 41% of the vote.  He got 18,237 votes to Indira Naidoo-Harris’ 13,060 votes.   He tweeted his thanks to voters.  “I look forward to the next four years and commit to being the strong voice Milton deserves at Queen’s Park.” Gill’s priorities include all-day GO Service, and fighting against the CN Intermodal.

Gill previously served as a federal MP in the riding of Brampton-Springdale. He has three children. Ford will be sworn in  as Premier with his cabinet June 29, 2018. 43,789 people cast their votes in Milton.