Ward Profile: Ward 4 (Southwest Milton)

Milton's New Ward 4 Image Credit: Town of Milton

By: Laura Steiner

Boundaries:  North: Derry Road, South: Lower Base Line, East: 25 Highway, West: Bell School Line

Formerly parts of: 1,7, and 8.  Currently represented municipally by: Robert Duvall (ward 1), Rick Di Lorenzo (Ward 7) and Zeeshan Hamid (ward 8).  At the regional level it’s represented by Mike Cluett (wards 1,6,7,8)

Landmarks: Includes the CN Rail line, the velodrome (Mattamy National Cycling Centre), Milton District Hospital, and Milton Sports Centre.


Growth: This area is the southern half of the Boyne Survey.  Subdivisions stop at Louis St. Laurent.  The next segment takes development down to the north side of Britannia Rd.    The same question exists: What kind of housing? How is transit integrated? How are bike lanes included? Walking trails?

Milton Education Village (MEV): A 400 acre complex including a 50 acre post-secondary campus,  announced in April, 2018.  It represents a rare chance to build, and design a neighbourhood around the campus.  Bringing this online is a key challenge for the next council.  This is a potential legacy piece.

The CN Intermodal:  The idea of an Intermodal facility has been controversial since it was first announced in 2015.  If built, it will be physically located in the new ward 4.  In February, the Region of Halton announced a court challenge on jurisdictional issues.  In June, the former provincial government announced it was filing for intervenor status in the court case.  The only thing the municipality can do is oppose it.  The final decisions on this project come from the federal government.


Regional Councillor:

Zeeshan Hamid

Sammy Ijaz

John Pollard

David Hertzman

Tony Lambert


Town Councillor candidates:

Sameera Ali

Jean Claude Ngansoo

Khurshid Khan

Syed Raza

Biren Gosai



Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.