Milton Council Sworn In

The 2018-2022 term of Milton Council has officially begun.  Councillors were sworn in on Monday, December 3 at the First Ontario Centre for the Arts- Milton.  Gord Krantz took his oath of office as administered by Justice of the Peace Mark Curtis, and was given his chain of office.

Each councillor then took their oath of office.  There were eight in all, breaking down to  four local councillors, and four regional councillors.  Krantz was given a chance to give an inaugural address.  He focused on the “paused” university campus saying “as far as I’m concerned, it’s just delayed.  It will not be stopped.”  The province of Ontario announced a pause on funding for the Wilfrid Laurier University (WLU) three days after the municipal election.

The ward boundaries were realigned to allow for two additional councillors at Halton Regional Councillor.  Councillors for the 2018-2022 term are:

  • Ward 1 Local: Kristina Tesser Derksen, Regional: Colin Best
  • Ward 2 Local: John Challinor, Regional: Rick Malboeuf
  • Ward 3 Local: Rick Di Lorenzo, Regional: Mike Cluett
  • Ward 4 Local: Sameera Ali, Regional: Zeeshan Hamid

The first official meeting is December 10, 2018 at 7 p.m. in council chambers.  They will be discussing the 2019 municipal budget.