Election Background: 2019 Federal Election

Milton Riding Map for the 2019 federal election Image credit: Elections Canada

By: Laura Steiner

Riding boundaries: This riding takes in the entire town of Milton north to Highway 7, and the northwest section of Burlington down as far as Dundas.  The riding was created in 2015.

Candidates in alphabetical order:

Percy Dastur, People’s Party of Canada (PPC).  The PPC was formed earlier this year when Maxime Bernier resigned from the Conservative caucus to form is own party.  Click here to visit Dastur’s website

Farina Hassan: New Democratic Party (NDP):  Hassan works in the finance industry as a mortgage broker.  She has previous political experience as the candidate for the Ontario NDP in the riding of Mississauga-Erin Mills.  The federal NDP is led by Jagmeet Singh.  You contact her through her Twitter account

Eleanor Hayward: Green Party of Canada (GPC)– Eleanor Hayward works as a massage therapist, while studying social sciences at McMaster University.  Hayward previously ran as the Green Party of Ontario’s candidate in Milton.  The Green Party is led by Elizabeth May. For more visit this website.

Lisa Raitt, Conservative Party of Canada (CPC): Raitt is the incumbent having served as the area’s MP since 2015.  Prior to that she served as the representative of Halton.  The Conservative Party Leader is Andrew Scheer.  Raitt serves as Deputy Leader.  Before getting into politics she worked at the Toronto Port Authority.  A full bio is on her website.

Adam van Koeverden: Liberal Party of Canada (LPC).  Adam is a former Olympian kayaker who represented Canada at four different Olympic Games.  He was the 2004 Lou Marsh award winner. He has worked in broadcasting with the CBC.  For more on Adam visit his website.

Advance polls open tomorrow, and run through the Thanksgiving weekend.  Election Day is October 21, 2019.  For more information visit Elections’ Canada website