Trump Travel Ban to Take Partial Effect

The Supreme Court of the United States (SCOTUS) is allowing President Donald Trump’s travel ban to take partial effect.  The ban affects people from six majority Muslim nations: Iran, Libya, Somalia, Sudan, and Yemen.

According to the CBC, the court’s decision allows enforcement of the ban provided that people from those countries do not have a “credible lack of a bona fide relationship with a person or entity in the United States.   They will hear full arguments in October.

Trump applauded the ruling in a statement.  “Today’s ruling allows me to use an important tool for protecting our nation’s homeland,” he said.  This is the third attempt to bring in a travel ban.  He initially issued an executive order in January, and had it defeated by the courts.

In February he issued a second travel ban which had been defeated by the appeals court.  A Richmond Virginia appeals court said it was “rooted in religious animus towards Muslims.  A San Francisco appeals court said it didn’t comply with US Immigration laws.

Trump issued the current travel ban in March.